Her Writings

painting of Lucy Maud Montgomery by Kevin Sylvester

Maud’s Novels

While some people think that Anne of Green Gables’ books were written in order of Anne’s life, but you’ll see below that in fact Maud wrote them out of order. A fun thing to do is to read the books in the order that they were published. The last book on this list, The Blythes are Quoted, was the last manuscript Maud dropped off at her publisher, McClelland and Stewart. For a number of reasons, the book wasn’t published until 2008.  

1908: Anne of Green Gables

1909: Anne of Avonlea

1910: Kilmeny of the Orchard

1911: The Story Girl

1913: The Golden Road

1915: Anne of the Island

1917: Anne’s House of Dreams

1919: Rainbow Valley

1921: Rilla of Ingelside

1923: Emily of New Moon

1925: Emily Climbs

1926: The Blue Castle

1927: Emily’s Quest

1929: Magic for Marigold

1931: A Tangled Web

1933: Pat of Silver Bush

1935: Mistress Pat

1936: Anne of Windy Poplars

1937: Jane of Lantern Hill

1939 Anne of Ingleside

2008: The Blythes are Quoted (edited by Benjamin Lefebvre)

Maud’s Autobiography

1917: The Alpine Path: The Story of My Career

Maud’s Short Stories

During her career, Maud published over 500 short stories in a variety of magazines from around the world. Some people have spent their lives tracking them down. The result are a series of collected stories. The first two on this list were published during Maud’s lifetime, the rest are after she died.

1912: Chronicles of Avonlea

1920: Further Chronicles of Avonlea

1974: The Road to Yesterday

1979: The Doctor’s Sweetheart (edited by Catherine McLay)

1988: Akin to Anne: Tales of Other Orphans (edited by Rea Wilmshurst)

1989: Along the Shore: Tales by the Sea (edited by Rea Wilmshurst)

1990: Among the Shadows: Tales from the Darker Side (edited by Rea Wilmshurst)

1991: After Many Days: Tales of Time Passed (edited by Rea Wilmshurst)

1993: Against the Odds: Tales of Achievement (edited by Rea Wilmshurst)

1994: At the Altar: Matrimonial Tales (edited by Rea Wilmshurst)

1995: Across the Miles: Tales of Correspondence (edited by Rea Wilmshurst

1995: Christmas with Anne and Other Holiday Stories (edited by Rea Wilmshurst)

Maud’s Poetry

Maud’s favourite thing to do was to write poetry. She thought it was her calling. Most of her poetry was published in magazines and newspapers. She did have one book of poetry published during her lifetime and it is very rare and hard to find.

1916: The Watchman and Other Poems

1987: The Poetry of Lucy Maud Montgomery (selected and introduced by John Ferns and Kevin McCabe)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *